The Most Authentic Pad Thai (that you can make at home)

I remember the first time I had Pad Thai. I was 14 and with my dad. We had spent the day shopping for his convenience store and restaurant. He would buy knick knacks, salt and pepper shakers, candle holders, etc. from the Looney Lizard. The people from the small town his restaurant was located in would most certainly never visit a Looney Lizard as it was over an hour away. He would mark up his dollar store finds by 400% and then put them in the middle of the dining room tables. People would use the salt and pepper shakers, see a price tag on the bottom and that was it, sold! The number of salt and pepper shakers they went through because of it was astounding, but talk about an ingenious sales tactic. But I digress.

So, there we were, starving after a long day of shopping. He said we would do something special instead of the usual Fast Eddies or McDonald’s. He took me to this little thai place, basically a hole in the wall. We sat at a tiny table for two and he ordered for both of us, refusing to tell me what I was in for. Then, there it was in front of me. Noodles with scrambled eggs, onions, tofu and peanuts. This was my first foray into any kind of ethnic cuisine and I was instantly repulsed. Who in their right mind wants eggs with their noodles or peanuts with their eggs or tofu with anything. I didn’t want to disappoint my dad, so I tried it. My initial repulsion was replaced with surprise and delight. It was delicious! We both cleaned our plates and I was forever changed (kind of).

It was years before I had Pad Thai again. We moved away and I never went back to that restaurant. I did find a thai place here that had pretty decent Pad Thai, but it closed a couple of months ago. That was the catalyst for what is now known as THE BEST AND ONLY PAD THAI YOU WILL EVER EAT AGAIN!Pad thai

The ingredient list can be a little intimidating, but trust me when I say it is worth the effort. I live in a relatively small city (or big town depending on who you ask) about 45 minutes away from Toronto. We don’t have all the wordly resources of a big city, but I was able to find everything listed below with relative ease. I did have to go to a specialty asian market for a couple of things, but while I was there we also picked up an awesome mesh strainer for $1.79. Ridonk!

Here we go:

  • 6 ounces Marinated Tofu (recipe below), cut into cubes
  • 1 ounce tamarind paste (I used a concentrate)
  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons palm sugar
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 4 ounces rice stick noodles
  • 1-2 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 1 cup green onions, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons garlic, minced
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons salted cabbage
  • 1 tablespoon dried shrimp (we’ll call this one optional since not everyone will be onboard with the flavor)
  • 3 ounces mung bean sprouts
  • 1/2 cup peanuts, chopped
  • dried red chiles/sriracha and lime for garnish

First, the tofu. Take 6 ounces of firm, NOT silken, tofu and cut into 1/2″ wide strips. Wrap tightly in a tea towel and place it into a cake pan. Top with another cake pan. Weigh it down with 5lbs of weight. (I’ve used hand weights, canned food, dried beans…) Refrigerate for 12-15 hours. I have done a shortcut here before which I will mention. It doesn’t work as well, but if you’re impatient and plan on eating this tonight you can wrap it in a tea towel, place it on the counter and place a cutting board on top. Put something REAL heavy on top. I’ve used my stand mixer, a cast iron skillet, small child, whatever you have. Leave it for a least 30 minutes and up to 2 hours. It won’t be as dry but it will work.

Once pressed, put the tofu in a container or freezer bag. Add 1/2 cup soy sauce and 1 teaspoon of chinese five spice. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, turning once. Remove tofu from the marinade and use immediately or store for 3 days. DO NOT STORE IT IN THE MARINADE. It has to come out after 30 minutes or it will be unbearably salty. Just trust me on this one.

Time to make the Pad Thai now:

Combine tamarind paste with boiling water and set aside.

Combine fish sauce, palm sugar, and vinegar in a small bowl. Set aside.

Put the noodles into a mixing bowl (we used a 9 x 13 metal pan which worked quite well). Cover with hot water. Set aside while you prepare the rest of the ingredients. Once everything else is measured out into separate bowls, drain the noodles and cut them into strips, about the size of a french fry.

Run the tamarind through a fine mesh strainer (I used my asian market find for this step) and add it to the fish sauce mixture. Stir that sh*t right up.

Heat a wok over high heat. Seriously, giv’er on the heat. Like, HOT. Add 1 tablespoon of the oil and heat until it shimmers. Add the tofu and cook, stirring constantly,for about 1 minute or until it is quite golden and delicious. Remove into a small bowl and set aside.

Add more oil if necessary. Add 2/3 of the green onions and all of the garlic. Cook for about 15 seconds. Add the eggs and wait 10-15 seconds. Once they start to set give them a stir to scramble them. Now it’s time to add everything else in the following order, stirring after each addition: noodles, sauce, cabbage, shrimp, 2/3 of the bean sprouts and peanuts. Toss it all together until it is heated through, then add the tofu and toss to combine. Remove to a serving dish and garnish with remaining peanuts, green onions and bean sprouts. Serve with the lime wedges and dried chiles or sriracha. I used sriracha because it’s delicious and spicy and I am addicted.

Now serve it to your friends and throw away your takeout menus.

One response to “The Most Authentic Pad Thai (that you can make at home)

  1. Pingback: Epic Iron Stir Fry | Suburban Garlic·

Leave a comment